Thought Catalog

ShutterstockShutterstock

We don’t all have perfect lives. We get what life throws at us. Mental illness is a topic many people have difficulty with. It is not an obvious illness cured by medicine. Most people suffer in silence; unaware of the repercussions it will have as time goes on. Admitting you suffer from a mental illness can be the hardest reality we admit to ourselves. I plastered a fake smile and made jokes to mask the turmoil inside me. From personal experience, I can tell you that hiding will only exacerbate pain until you can no longer control it. Through anger, depression, tears, self-doubt, lies, honesty, and eventually happiness, I was able to come to accept my mental illness. I stopped letting it control me and accepted what I had been struggling with for years. It made me stronger, more confident and sure of myself. Now, I realize my journey…

View original post 1,054 more words

